News
Virginia 4pm Burn Law
Fri. Feb 14th 2020

 

 

The Commonwealth’s 4 p.m. Burning Law goes into effect Feb. 15, 2020 – the start of spring fire season in Virginia.

This law prohibits burning before 4 p.m. each day (Feb. 15 – April 30) if the fire is in, or within 300 feet of woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials.

A violation of this law is a Class 3 misdemeanor punishable by up to a $500 fine. In addition to the criminal violation, those who allow a fire to escape are liable for the cost of suppressing the fire as well as any damage caused to others’ property.

 

The link below to Virginia Department of Forestry provides complete information on laws, safe burning habits, and ways to control lawful fires.

www.dof.virginia.gov/

5 entries in the News

5 entries in the News


© 2021 Victoria Fire and Rescue Co. Inc.